Welcome to GetLostHiking!

The idea behind this site is to post as much as I can about backpacking, fishing, and other outdoor activities. As far as my knowledge and experience goes, I have lots of knowledge on hiking, but not so much on snowshoeing, lots on fishing, but not so much on backpacking. I’ve recently gotten into a lot of different outdoor activities and with this blog I’m hoping to learn literally everything possible about them! Depending on how much money I can save up I’m hoping to go on my first real backpacking trip too. I’m planning to go with my girlfriend to Mount Washington for a few days. The reason I’m going there is because I live in Western Ma and that is the tallest mountain with the most challenges in the area. Everyone I’ve talked to about it says there are very difficult trails to the top, and very easy trails. I plan to take the toughest possible! And usually, I’m not one to stay on formed trails anyway.

20130112-144247.jpg My kind of trail.
For hiking I usually go to a local place called Mount Tom, it’s a blast! It’s also only about 1,000 feet tall. But it’s 10 minutes from my house so I like to go there and have some fun. I usually climb straight up the side where it’s a lot of rock climbing. I will hopefully get into real rock climbing and mountaineering sometime soon but for now, it’s all about free climbing a couple hundred feet up the mountain. If anyone reading this lives around Western Ma, I’d love to go out hiking with you and hear about where you often go. Other things I hope to really get into are back country snowboarding. I usually go to ski mountains with lifts, this year I’m going to more local areas that I can make my own lines on. Another dream of mine, that this blog will hopefully give me the knowledge to do, is to hike the entire Appalachian trail! I also want to go to Alaska and backpack near areas with fishing so I can travel with little food in my pack and catch dinner. Even though I’m not a full blown backpacker yet I’ll still have some tips on the site from time to time as well as review some items I’ve picked up for hiking/backpacking. I’m hoping to be able to set up some sort of bulletin board type thing as well where anyone can post a question and anyone can answer it, doesn’t have to be related anything in particular on the blog, but I have no idea how to do that yet so if anyone knows what to do post a comment. Or post questions and I’ll do my best to answer your questions and quickly as well. As you can see I have a lot of plans and things I want to do so check in to see any updates. Also I’m just about to start going to school for environmental sustainability which I’m super excited about! I really want to work with the EPA to protect the amazing environments the U.S alone has to offer us. You’ll learn I’m a pretty big advocate of leave no trace practices as well, where I go hiking a lot there is a road to the summit house and cell towers/radio towers. Along this road I see water bottles and things of that nature all the time. If I can get to it, I’ll throw it in my pack and toss it in the trash later that day. Everyone who cares about adventure enough to read blogs about it probably takes care of the environment anyway, but just think, if everyone litters just once a week that’s 300million items dropped out the window every week just the U.S. Not only does it make highways and other road ways dangerous, it ruins the beauty of the outdoors and more importantly, connects animals to humans that much more. We don’t want bears, mountain lions, moose, or anything getting into human food. Their bodies are not used to it nor are they capable of digesting a lot of those foods. Down in the smokey mountains this is a big problem, so much so that you actually have to hide your coolers/food in your cars. Bears can identify and get into coolers like you wouldn’t believe according to various outdoor guides. And most people apparently don’t care very much, so they’ve put fines and other penalties in place. When I was in Cosby, Tn camping and checking out the area, I was told the fines could be as much as $10,000 depending on what happened to the animals and other people in the area, possibly even jail time for endangering other humans as well as the environment. So, take care of your food and waste, no bottle or wrapper is worth animal attacks! Another way to protect the environment when you’re fishing is to care for the fish properly. When you catch the fish and get it to your net or hand keep the fish in the water. And try not to handle the fish for too long, if you want to take a picture, keep the fish in the water until your camera is ready, take the fish out real quick for the picture and then right back in the water. Also one thing I rarely see people take the time to do. Don’t let the fish swim away too soon after catching it, they need to recover. Face them up stream and hold them for 20-30 seconds or until you feel their energy coming back. But anyway welcome to the blog and expect plenty more about safety outdoors for both you and the environment!

Leave a Reply

